So for the past three years I’ve been writing and rewriting my first novel.

It’s a story that had plaugd me for years before I put pen to paper.

Growing up reading was one of my biggest pleasures and wanting to be a published writer was something i kept coming back to when asked what i wanted to be when I grew up. Along with dancer, teacher of various ages and subjects, actor and quite possibly the most outlandish of them all a singer. Its only outlandish because I cant sing a note. Which is a shame as i love to sing, alone in my room with the music turned right up. Or very loudly and badly when around a campfire.

So this novel I’ve been writing has been n the works for quite a while. When I finished the first draft I sent if off to some agents and got positive responses back. Well as positive as a rejection can be.

They all liked the idea behind it and the pacing of the story, only problem was as a supernatural vampire story it would be even more difficult than before to get it taken up by publishers. Fair enough. At the time I submitted it twilight was constantly in the top ten best sellers. The vampire fiction market was fully saturated.

But this book is still bugging me. Wanting to be out there for others to read. And hopefully one day it will be.

So in the mean time I’ve tried to write other types of stories. Crime, fantasy and romance.

One things for sure I’m no romance writer. Reading back over what I’ve written makes me wince, so those prototypes will never see the light of day.

Crimes a little easier to write but still some of the things I’ve written make me wince and are yet to be seen by other eyes. Theres something very therapeutic about writing a good murder scene. Even if no one else ever reads it. Only thing is most of the times the people who end up dying in all sorts of nasty and slow ways could quite reasonably be said to represent people in my life I’m having problems with.

So not a good idea when your writing fiction and trying to prove to the world that you’re a nice sane person. Plus it brings up some interesting legal issues. works of fiction aren’t meant to be based on life. So for the moment crimes off the list of genre too.

Which lives fantasy.

Something that is much harder to write then one may think.

My favourite example of fantasy is Terry Pratchett’s Discworld novels. I’ve been reading them for years and will beg borrow or steal to get the latest one on its release day.

The reason I find his discworld novels so engrossing are the lengths he’s gone to, to make the world real. Theres so much back story and basic information about the things to be found there that many people all have the same idea about what things are like in his world. Theres not many books where that happens. Not even Harry Potter which has a lot of research backing it up.

The couple of short fantasy stories I have submitted to various people have all come back with the same comments. “I close my eyes and I feel like I can see you world, but the characters are too one-dimensional.”

All fair points. It’s so easy to get caught up in trying to make another world believable that you forget to make sure that the characters are believable too. The way they interact with each other and the world around them all helps to make the story believable and it doesn’t matter how well you describe the world if the people within it don’t grab your attention too.

Something i forgot before sending the stories off as I was so proud of being able to creat a believable world I didn’t check to make sure the people in it where up to the same standard of writing. Something I’ve hopefully rectified now and will start getting acceptances.

There are other ways of getting your work out there. For example Unbound. Which is a lovely website for airing your work. And it would be something i would maybe consider doing in the future. As things stand I wont be going through them. When my work is released for people to read I want it to be the best it can be. And to me that means getting an agent and then on to a Publisher where I can work with an editor to make it even better.

If someone is going to take the time out of their day to read my work I want it to be the best it can be, so when they finish it they feel like it wasnt a waste of their time and hopefully want to read more of my stuff.

