So the ballot papers have hit our mats. Yes we’re in the home straight of this seemingly never ending leadership election.

If your like my Grandmother the filled in ballot will have been sent off within minutes of getting it. I’m pretty sure the postie was still on her street when she set off to post her filled in ballot. And as predicted i got a call as soon as she got back home.

“Gemma the ballots have arrived, fill it in now. The RIGHT way and get it posted today!!!”

Yes my Grandmother is bossy. If I lived closer to her I’m pretty sure she’d find her way to mine on a normal election day, march me to the polling station and stand next to me as i fill the ballot in to make sure I vote the “right way”. She has very firm ideas on what is the right way to vote and likes to make sure the family votes that way.

Anyway during the phone call i had to admit i havent got my papers yet. They went to my dads address instead.

A bit of a back story is needed here i think.

In a past post i’ve mentioned that my mother was very active in the local party as i grew up. so active in fact a lot of the older folks in our clp where called auntie and uncle by us kids as we saw more of them then our real family. As the clp is run by people who aren’t very good at dealing with change I can predict what will happen at every meeting and the time it will take. Having been bottle fed, napped and finally taken part in the meeting over the last nearly twenty eight years i chose to stop going to the meetings. I believe the final straw was they stopped the holding the meetings in a pub. Yes once i was old enough i drank my way through the meetings. Hard to let your mouth run away with you and insult people you’ve know your whole life if your mouths fall of straws!

So when i moved and realised i would be living within spitting distance of a couple of these older members who i have a hard time saying no to when they corner me, i left the membership address as my Dads. I still get any important post.

And more importantly for me I haven’t had to deal with what I am assured is a true mountain of snail mail related to the election. Getting twenty thousand emails daily is bad enough. OK i might have over egged the number there but it sure feels like when the phone keeps beeping to tell me i have a new email.

Back to now. Having made my admonition to my Grandmother i waited for the expected lecture to happen. Instead i got told to get my arse over to my dads and get the ballot filled in now. Remembering to vote the right way. and to call her when its done to make sure she likes the way i voted.

I’m now dodging her calls as it’ll be a couple of days before i can to dads to fill in my forms. Luckly for me shes in her eighties and is a little scared of the internet so the chances of her seeing this, and my head losing touch with my body are slim to none.

But, even though the ballots have now hit our door mats there are still hustings going on and planned to go on till the last second before the poll closes.

I might be a lone in holding this view but surely once the papers have been sent out all hustings ect should be stopped. It should be treated like a normal polling day. No campaigning allowed.

Again going back to my Grandmother even though she has filled in and sent her ballot back tonight she’s been at a hustings and plans on going to others over the next few weeks.

Why i ask. Because her friends will be there. People she only sees at conference. And there’s food and drink on offer.

If you ever want to hold a political event have food and drink on offer and you’ll be stampeded. At conference if you plan your day right you never have to pay for food and drink. but thats another story.

So i guess at the end of the day, the old people are going to the events having already sent their forms off to have a good chin wag while younger people like me are still scratching our heads wondering just who to vote for.

I still don’t know who’ll get my vote. I may end up voting just as the polls close going with the candidates my Grandmother is backing.

