It’s been a month since I last wrote a short story for my son.

I’ve wanted to but I’ve found myself blocked.

While in part its cause I get an idea but can’t get it down on paper before I forget it, It’s mostly because I’ve had a lot of pain to cope with.

I Have been struggling with Sciatica and two teeth we’re doing everything we can to avoid root canal in.

Being in pain that strong pills don’t help with really isn’t conductive to writing. Today is the first day I’ve been able to sit and spend any time typing at the laptop.

After writing an earlier longer post today i had to go lie down for a while while the knee pain from the Sciatica eased before trying again.

So a brief bit about Sciatica.

Its Bloody horrible. No matter what you do when it’s at its worse you can’t get comfortable for sleeping or just resting. Forget walking. That just sends pain up and down your leg and spine.

Sciatica is caused by trauma to the sciatic nerve, could be a bump or a slip disc, or any number of things. In my case it was trying to do exercise. That’s right exercise causes bad things to happen.

I’m quite a bit over weight and want to lose it and get fit. So to that end since i can’t afford to join a gym or go swimming on a regular basis I’ve been using things around the flat as aids to exercise. I buggered the nerve jumping about to music, on a cushion so Mrs downstairs didn’t come up and complain again. Possibly not the wisest choice, but it was getting the heart rate up and i could feel it working muscles that don’t normally get much of a workout.

So treatment for sciatica. Well apart from getting the good painkillers there isn’t much you can do for it. Cold and hot packs don’t really do anything but make the area their applied to feel hot or cold.

Bandaging legs, like above doesn’t really do much. It doesn’t help with the pain, but if you feel weak at the knee it does help make you feel a little more stable while up and about.

Sleep, that’s for the weak and not in pain. I spent three days not sleeping before I got the really good pain killers, But as soon as they wore off I was awake again, hunting for where I’d dumped my specs so i can see where I’ve dumped the pills and bottle of water to wash them down with.

Thankfully things are looking up. I’ve been able to cut back on the pain killers and sleep is almost back to normal.

Here’s a couple of links about sciatica

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sciatica

http://www.nhs.uk/Conditions/Sciatica/Pages/Introduction.aspx

